“Star Wars: Aftermath” Will Be The First Prequel Novel Leading Up To “Star Wars: The Force Awakens”

This post may contain affiliate links; please read the disclosure for more information.


Last week it was announced that a series of 20 books were coming that takes place in the timeline between “Return Of The Jedi” and “The Force Awakens.” These series of books will be called, “Journey To Star Wars: The Force Awakens.”

The books will be a combination of of novels, kids activity books, young adult books, and comic books. The books will all be part of the official “Star Wars” canon and will explain the years leading up to “The Force Awakens.” All of these books will contain hints and clues relating to “The Force Awakens.”

StarWars.com has officially announced that the first novel in the series is called “Star Wars: Aftermath.” It will be the first of a trilogy of novels and it will be written by critically-acclaimed author, Chuck Wendig.


Here is the official synopsis:

The second Death Star has been destroyed. Rumors are flying that the Emperor and his enforcer, Darth Vader, are dead. A new government is forming to replace the Empire. But the galaxy is a big place, and the fallout of this cataclysm will affect different worlds in different ways. Does everyone accept the fall of Imperial rule? Has everyone even heard the life-altering news? What rushes in to fill the vacuum the Empire has left? And who will try to stop them? Those are some of the themes we’ll be exploring in Aftermath, and as a lifelong Star Wars fan, just writing those words gives me chills. I can’t wait for our first canon glimpse into the state of the galaxy after the Battle of Endor.

What’s more, Aftermath will be the first book in a trilogy that begins to bridge the Star Wars timeline between Return of the Jedi and The Force Awakens. There is so much unknown between the Battle of Endor and the events of The Force Awakens, and we’re excited to take our first step into that space.


Other titles coming from the “Journey To The Star Wars: The Force Awakens” book line are:

  • Lost Stars (Disney-Lucasfilm Press)
  • Smuggler’s Run: A Han Solo Adventure (Disney-Lucasfilm Press)
  • The Weapon of a Jedi: A Luke Skywalker Adventure (Disney-Lucasfilm Press)
  • Moving Target: A Princess Leia Adventure (Disney-Lucasfilm Press)
  • Star Wars: Absolutely Everything You Need to Know (DK)
  • Star Wars: Journey to the Force Awakens (Marvel Comics)
  • Star Wars: Journey to the Force AwakensC-3PO (Marvel Comics)
  • Star Wars: Ships of the Galaxy (Studio Fun International)

Source: StarWars.com

About the author

Joe Hogarty

Joe moved from New York to Florida back in 1997. He currently resides in St. Petersburg and visits the parks frequently. His first visit to the Magic Kingdom was when he was 8 years old back in 1974. Joe originally originally started as a photographer for WDWNT and is now the host of WDWNT: Nerd Alert, our movie reviewer and reports the news for WDWNT. You can contact Joe through email at [email protected]

newest oldest most voted
Notify of

I’m really eager to meet the characters that are going to shape the Disney-Star Wars universe. Was there a release date associated with it?

Joe Hogarty
Joe Hogarty

Nope. No release date yet. Kind of cool how much Star Wars is coming out. For years we were dry. We should be seeing a new trailer in less than a month.

Scott Dolan
Scott Dolan

Yeah, but I hope they’re a little more careful with Star Wars than they’ve been with Frozen. Star Wars has deeper roots, and a large built-in fan base, but I don’t want them to even attempt to drive it into the ground as they have with Frozen.

The books sound kinda cool, though I was never a big Star Wars novel guy. But, because of the connective tissue there, I’ll probably read them.