Walt Disney Imagineers, Stuntronics, and More Awarded by Themed Entertainment Association and IAAPA

The Themed Entertainment Association (TEA) announced at the International Association of Amusement Parks and Attractions (IAAPA) Expo that they would be presenting three Thea Awards to Walt Disney Imagineering in 2022.


The Stuntronics technology used in Avengers Campus at Disney California Adventure will receive a Thea Award for Outstanding Technical Innovation. This advanced robotics figure jumps and flies through the air, replicated Spider-Man.

Retired Imagineer Doris Hardoon will receive the Buzz Price Thea Award, recognizing a lifetime of achievements. Hardoon began working with Disney Parks in 1979. She worked on World Showcase pavilions in EPCOT, Disney’s Animal Kingdom, Tokyo Disneyland, Disneyland Paris, and Shanghai Disney Resort.

Carmen Smith will receive the Thea Catalyst Award, presented to an individual who has recently made an important impact benefitting the themed entertainment industry. Smith is senior VP for Creative Development, Product/Content & Inclusive Strategies for Disney Parks, Experiences and Products. She has been working to diversify external partnerships and collaboration and to ensure thoughtful representation.

For more information on booking your next trip with our official travel agent sponsor, the Vacationeer, visit wdwnt.travel.

vacationeer TopBarAD2020 v2

Disney Live Entertainment also won Brass Ring Awards for Live Entertainment Excellence at the expo. The “Magic Happens” parade received a Brass Ring Award for Best Atmosphere Street Show Performance while Oogie Boogie Bash received an award for Most Creative Halloween Haunt, Show or Experience. The Remy Feature Plush won a Brass Ring Award for Best Plush Item.

“We never lose sight of the global audience we create experiences for, and we are grateful to TEA and IAAPA for being such a force in our industry and their recognition of our Imagineering teams,” said Bob Weis, president of Walt Disney Imagineering Creative and New Experience Development, who received the Buzz Price Thea Award himself last year. “I am so proud of everyone who was recognized this year, especially Doris Hardoon and Carmen Smith, to whom I extend a special congratulations.”

For the latest Disney Parks news and info, follow WDW News Today on TwitterFacebook, and Instagram.